Time to Resurrect this Blog!

Wow! Hard to believe it’s been almost 2 years since I’ve posted anything to this blog. Guess you can say my life has been busy and has taken some unexpected turns. Between having a baby, and then loosing my husband to a heart attack, I haven’t been good on the weight loss journey or cooking for that matter. So now it’s time to dust off the apron and get back into cooking again. Not to mention that I’m planting in the garden, have 1/2 a hog, and 1/4 of a cow so why not use the fresh meat and produce to make some yummy meals.

So last night, my parents were in town to help me with yard work and watching Miss Ava who is not always super helpful and I tried out a new recipe from The Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummonds. And to quote my mother “Oh my” it was superb and super simple. Below is the recipe with my changes. And although it’s not super Paleo as it does have Dr. Pepper it’s worth that cheat meal. And really, you aren’t drinking the Dr. Pepper, so the sugar is very minimal.

Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork

1 whole Large Onion
1 whole Pork Shoulder (“pork Butt”) – 3-4 Pounds
Salt And Freshly Ground Black Pepper
1/4 – 1/2 can (11 Ounce) Chipotle Peppers In Adobo Sauce (depending on your spice preference)
1 can Dr. Pepper
1 Tablespoon Brown Sugar

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

Peel the onion and cut it into wedges. Lay them in the bottom of a large dutch oven or casserole pan with a lid.

Generously salt and pepper the pork roast, then set it on top of the onions in the pan.

Mix the Chipotle peppers & juice, Dr. Pepper, and Brown Sugar, then pour over the pork.

Place lid tightly on pot, then set pot in the oven. Cook for at least 4 hours, turning roast two or three times during the cooking process. Check meat after 4 hours; it should be absolutely falling apart (use two forks to test.) If it’s not falling apart, return to the oven for another hour. If in the midst of turning the meat you notice it’s falling apart then go ahead and remove from the oven. I ended up turning the oven off and going about my yard work for another 2-3 hours and then enjoyed it. It was still warm and super yummy!

Ree goes on to talk about straining out the fat from the liquid. I found that the meat didn’t really need the liquid and I just served on a roll with some BBQ sauce.

Hope you enjoy and I’m going to start trying to show more of my adventures in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

