Day 10 – recipes galore

So it’s day 10 now. Only 50 days left. Pssst that’s nothing, right? Well this week was eventful, I decided to change the way I make food by planning my “menu” ahead of time. So on Sunday I sat down with a warm mug of bone broth, my cookbooks, and iPad and began to plan. I got the inspiration from Melissa Joulwan’s book Well Fed. She talks about how she preps everything on Sunday. So I decided on a variety of meals:
Breakfast: acorn squash with sausage & breakfast lasagna.
Lunch: leftovers from the night before
Dinner: Beef fried fo-rice, smokey chicken thighs, Best Ever Chicken Wings, creamy spice market kale from Well Fed, Stuffed Pork Tenderloin, and sautéed cabbage.
Snacks: Paleo crack dip (we will get to this) and sweet potato chips, roasted red peppers, and hard boiled eggs.

Afterwards I wrote out my grocery list and off to the store in went. People ask how you shop for paleo and the best tip I have is shop the outside. When you are at the grocery store stick to the outer edge of the store (produce and meat). The only times I venture down the aisles is A) when the husband needs something non-paleo or B) I need frozen veggies, spices or coconut/olive oil. When I was done I had about $100 of groceries and it looked like this:

20130116-225743.jpg

From there I spent a few hours prepping the food and making food. First I had to feed my belly as it was protesting. So I threw together my tried and true quick recipe, Beef Fried-fo Rice, courtesy of my friend Sunny! Miss her!

Chicken or Beef Fried Rice
1lb beef or chicken (sliced into strips)
1 head of cauliflower
2 Tbsp + 1 tsp (divided) coconut oil
1 onion
2 cloves garlic
1 bunch or bag of broccoli
1 red pepper
2 eggs, scrambled
1inch of ginger, grated
3 Tbsp coconut aminos
1 Tbsp fish sauce
Salt

Heat a large skillet over med-high heat. Add the beef or chicken. While it cooks prep your veggies and “rice” the cauliflower either by pulsing in a food processor or with a cheese grater. Once the meat is done remove from the pan and set aside. Add 1 tsp of coconut oil to the pan and add the eggs. Scramble the eggs and set aside. Add the remaining 2 Tbsp of oil and add the garlic. cook the garlic a minute, then add the veggies. Cook 5-7 min till done to your liking. Add ginger and cook another minute. Add the cauliflower and cook 3-4 min till soft but not mushy. Add the meat then add the coconut aminos and fish sauce. Add salt to taste. Serve and enjoy!

20130116-235659.jpg

So yummy!

The upsides of this week were the fact that my husband unhid the scale for one day and I had lost 8lbs! Yay! I have a long way to go but hey every pound is a victory! At the gym I managed to find my push ups and double unders. Not bad week so far! To be continued……

One thought on “Day 10 – recipes galore

Leave a Reply

