Day 1

So here’s the run down of Day 1.

I’m still suffering from this nasty cold, so taking some allergy medication to keep the sneezing and nose blowing to a minimum. I did wake up and make breakfast, which I ate of course on my way to work.

7am: Breakfast consisted of 2 eggs fried up in a little coconut oil with a pinch of salt and pepper. I know, boring, but hey it’s quick and easy.

12:00p: A warm cup of Kombucha Green Tea from Yogi along with about 8oz of the Curry Broccoli/Kohlrabi soup with some diced chicken thrown in. Of course, I’ve been slurping down the water. The goal is to finish 1 34oz Nalgene bottle by lunchtime which I finished about 22oz, 1 by 4pm, 1 during/post workout, and 1 in the evening. This gives me about a gallon of water intake, some days I do it, some days not so much. If I’m thirst I drink, if I’m hungry I drink as well. Many times my body says it’s hungry but really it’s just dehydrated. So I try to get 8 oz of water in and then see if I’m still hungry prior to eating. It’s not too bad, and once my body gets use to all the water it starts craving it. The downside is running to the restroom, it feels like, every 30 min.

So by the end of work I had consumed 1.5 bottle of water, not the 2 I was hoping for but I wasn’t beating myself up over it. It was time to head to the gym. First mistake, not squeezing a snack in before the gym. I now know my body is hungry by the time I make it to the gym.

Today’s workout was:
Warm-up
20 min to find 1 rep max Clean & Jerk
Mini-WOD: 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 of power cleans 95# & box jumps

I hit 135# Power Clean which wasn’t my life PR (personal record) but was a PR since getting back to the gym. So I was happy. In actuality I power cleaned the weight so I know I have more in me. Now I need to focus on getting my squat clean. It’s all mental and I know it!just need to beat that mental voice telling me no! The wod wasn’t great. I did step ups as my hamstring was tweaked during the warm up due to my legs being sore from FGB on sat so I decided to play it safe. I did do the 95# prescribed weight for the women and had no problems. Still battling this cold so my time was 12:01. Not great but it’s a start. The hardest critique of me is me as I know what I can do and I can’t seem to get my body to cooperate. So frustrating. But this where I change, day by day!

Post- workout snack was my apple.

Dinner: 1 chicken breast pounded to 1/2″ thickness, sprinkled with Magic Mushroom Powder. If you haven’t checked out Nom Nom Paleo you really should. Her app has fantastic recipes. One of these is her Magic Mushroom Powder. It’s great on chicken and steak. So far that’s what we have used it on. It’s quick and tasty.

I also roasted some Brussel sprouts.
2 Tbsp bacon grease
1 lb Brussel sprouts, cleaned
Salt, pepper, cayenne pepper to taste

Toss together the ingredients together.

20130107-204117.jpg

Bake in 400 degree oven for 20-30 min. Yum!

20130107-204202.jpg

I can tell I am going to need another snack as my tummy is rumbling a little now. Good signs that my body is starting to process food faster, in my opinion. Hopefully I can start burning this insulation off!

For my evening snack I warmed up a cup of bone broth.  Once you take the layer of fat off your prepared bone broth it is really good, not greasy as I originally thought.  Plus it’s full of great benefits (healthy hair and skin, helps heal your gut, and helps your joints).  Overall I finished 3.5 Nalgene Bottles totaling about 124oz of water.

Here’s a sneak peek at what’s on the menu tomorrow!

20130107-205310.jpg

Leave a Reply

