Eve of Day 1

So it’s the eve of the first day of the challenge.  Here is what has happened the last week.

1) Prior to the new year I enjoyed/gorged on food that I use to enjoy in my “old life”.  I wanted to get the cravings/desires out of my system.

2) Had my Wellness Evaluation at Crossfit North Peoria.  This meant I had my fasting cholesterol and blood pressure taken so I could see what the diet does internally.  I feel like we all focus so much on the external appearance that we don’t acknowledge the internal changes that are happening to us.  I mean that’s really what matters, right?  It isn’t our fat that’s going to kill us necessarily, it’s the cholesterol, it’s the high blood pressure, it’s the stress on our heart, etc.  Not only that, but you can still be “skinny-fat”, man I wish I had that problem.  LOL!  So the numbers weren’t bad.  I was within the normal percentiles, so at least that’s good.  I know that I’m over weight, but I’m not as internally “unhealthy” as I thought.

3) The gym decided that a good “base” workout to evaluate our progress would be Fight Gone Bad.  Now, for those of you who aren’t familiar with this workout it’s a BEAST!  It is a named workout.  What does that mean?!  It’s exceptionally hard and suppose to make you suffer.  (Well at least that’s my opinion of the named workouts).  Anyways, it’s 3 rounds.  Each round you complete 1 minute each of Wall Balls, Sumo-High Pulls, Box Jumps, Push Presses, and Rowing.  The reps are counted for each exercise except for rowing which is for calories.  Then you get 1 min rest and repeat for 3x total.  Your score is the total of reps/calories for all 3 rounds.  (There are a large number of videos on the internet to show Fight Gone Bad, should you want to see the pain.)  Back in my Fit days I broke 300 and was very proud of it.  I knew going into the workout that breaking 300 would be very, very challenging.  Put on top of that I had to fast prior to this workout for the cholesterol test, it was going to be extra-challenging.  Yea I could have eaten between the test and the workout but I had not desire to see my breakfast a 2nd time as it came back up.  So let the pain begin.  I started out doing well with the wall balls and High Pulls.  55# is the prescribed weight, which is really easy for me.  Enter the box jumps, ugh!!  I took off on my first one and thought OMG!  I had no strength in my legs.  I had no gas in the tank and knew I had 2 options.  Continue jumping and pray I didn’t miss the box and split open my shins, or suck it up and do step-ups. I decided to do step-ups.  I finished the workout with a score of 243.  Not bad for not eating and being out of shape, but not great either.  Well at least I knew what my starting point was.

4) I weighed and took measurements, gag me!!  Never felt so disappointed in myself when I took the measurements.  But I keep telling myself, this is the starting point and the numbers are going to go down from now on.  I took a number of measurements: neck, arms, waist, hips, thigh.  I wanted to make sure I didn’t miss a loss, because even if the weight isn’t decreasing as much if the inches are coming off then I know fat is being replaced by muscle.  I think that’s one of my biggest struggles is getting sucked into the vortex of the scale.

5) That brings me to the next achievement  which was to make my husband hide the scale.  I promised myself I wasn’t going to weigh myself for 1 month.  This allows me to focus on my food, my body, my mind, and my workouts and not on the scale. I tend to weigh myself daily to see how food effects me and then reward or punish myself accordingly.  Time to get off that roller coaster.

Well at least now I have all my starting points and I’m ready to tackle this beast.  During the prep-week I’ve also been focusing on making healthier choices, eating breakfast, not eating when I’m not hungry just because, and pitching the crap food in the house.  I’ve received 2 new cookbooks that I’m adding to my collect (Everyday Paleo & Make It Paleo).  I have enjoyed flipping through the cookbooks and planning yummy meals to make.
Cookbooks

Oh and add to this the fact that I’ve caught the nasty cold that everyone has been getting.  So the constant sneezing, runny nose, and cough is extra fun!!! 😛  It makes my asthma flair up with the addition of the cold air outside.  Luckily it’s suppose to warm up some (~40 degrees) so hopefully it should help curb some of the coughing.  Just going to have to listen to my body, as I try to take it easy with chest colds.  Head colds are one thing, but chest colds are not fun as it takes my air away.

So enough of my ramblings.  It’s time to start the new life of 2013.  Let the games begin!! Thank you all for your encouragement!

2 thoughts on “Eve of Day 1

  1. You will kill this challenge! Your knowledge and will power is unstoppable! Just to encourage you, during the Lurong Challenge I had several hurdles with health issues and my workouts were completely sporadic. But because of the eating changes, I still lost a large amount of weight and quite a few inches! You go, girl!!
    Luann

  2. You are gonna do great Kala! One day at a time. Keep focused & never be too hard on yourself. Thanks for sharing your journey and blog with us. We are all on our own path, but yet that path connects with everyone else’s too. You guys all motivate & help me everyday. Thanks for all your help & great information you always share. I learn something new every day. Keep it up.
    Misty

Leave a Reply

