Let the countdown begin

So there is 1 day until the first of the year and although the challenge at crossfit doesn’t officially begin until the 7th, I plan to begin the sugar detox. So of course I am doing 2 things…..
1) Bingeing on my favorite junk food (Dr. pepper, Popcorn, Homemade Apple Pie with Ice Cream, etc)
2) Prepping some easy meals to prevent the fall off the wagon.

While I was making another yummy yet un-paleo meal for a family Christmas party, I decided to throw together my go-to meal, soup! So I opened the fridge to figure out what I could throw together. What I came up with was a curried broccoli-kohlrabi soup. My soup made 6 mason jars (~12 cups) worth of soup. I love making this soup, freezing it, then thawing and adding steak or chicken to it for lunch.

Here’s the recipe, but feel free to substitute any left over veggies you may have sitting around. I hope you enjoy!

1 onion (chopped)
3 shallots (chopped)
1 Tbsp coconut oil
1 bunch of broccoli (chopped)
2 kohlrabi bulbs (not sure what you call them/ chopped)
1 medium apple (chopped)
3-4 cups chicken or beef broth (or both)
1 Tbsp curry powder
1 cup coconut milk
Salt & Pepper to taste

Heat a medium sauce pan over medium-high heat and add the coconut oil. Once heated add the onion and shallots and sauté till translucent and soft. Add the broccoli, kohlrabi, and apple and sauté for a couple minutes. Then add the broth and curry, adding additional water if necessary to cover the vegetables. Simmer for 7-10 min or until the broccoli is soft. Remove from heat and either using an immersion blender or food processor, purée to desired consistency. I like to leave a few vegetable chunks in the soup. Next add the coconut milk and simmer until heated through. Taste and add any salt or pepper to your liking. Then, enjoy or add some protein to form a complete meal.

Vegetables simmering:
20121230-214920.jpg

Finished product:
20121230-214825.jpg

Leave a Reply

