Why I’m doing this and the rules to the game.

Let me start my biting the bullet and admitting I love food and unfortunately I love it a little too much. My weigh has been a constant struggle for me and I have tried many things to get it under control. 

A few years back I was introduced to Crossfit and began my love/hate relationship with it, as anyone who has done it would understand.  Along with crossfit came a new way of eating.  I learned about Paleo and the harmful effects of the things I was eating.  Through the last couple years I’ve slowly encorporated Paleo eating into my life, but have never fully devoted myself to it. 

Well I decided in 2013 I was going to make the move to dive fully into the Paleo lifestyle as well as to Crossfit. I have found a new gym, Crossfit North Peoria, that has a wonderful group of supportive people.  They decided to do a 60 day strict paleo challenge to kick off the new year.  I decided now was the best time as ever to start this journey. 

So here are the rules:
1. Eat real food – meat, eggs, vegetables, nuts, seeds, fruit, oils (like EVOO or coconut). Eat foods with very few ingredients, all pronounceable ingredients, or better yet, no ingredients listed at all because they’re fresh and natural.
2. Do not eat dairy. This includes butter, cheese (hard and soft), yogurt (even Greek) and milk (including cream in your coffee).
3. Do not eat grains. This includes bread, rice, pasta, corn (I count corn as a grain), oatmeal, and all of those gluten-free pseudo-grains. That’s not real food, right?
4. Do not eat legumes. This includes beans of all kinds, lentils, and peanuts. (No peanut butter, kids.)
5. Do not eat sugars of any kind, real or artificial. No maple syrup, honey, agave nectar, Splenda, Truvia, Stevia, etc.
6. Do not eat processed foods. ONLY EXCEPTION WILL BE PROTEIN SHAKES FOLLOWING A WORKOUT.mages, and other content

On top of that I’m throwing in a challenge that my friend Claudia did last year which is to run 365 days this year.  The running doesn’t have to be long (1 mile minimum) but the goal is to get off the couch and off the desk chair.  Of course the down side is that my work doesn’t have a shower, and that I now live in IL it’s cold as heck now.  Luckily we do have a treadmill in the garage which I’m hoping helps.  It is still going to be a challenge as i am not a “natural-born runner”.  I’m one of those that has to struggle through the runs, plus I’m also not known for my speed.  But your resolutions are suppose to be a challenge, right?  So that’s what this is. 

For me I think the main challenge will be the eating.  I am definitely one that knows how I am suppose to eat, it’s just implementing the change.  [standing up] Hi, my name is Kala and I’m a popcorn addict!  Goodness do I love popcorn.   I think that is one of my main downfalls, a nice big bowl of buttery popcorn.  Of course my will-power after the gym isn’t as strong either.  My husband loves chinese food and when he suggests it after a hard workout and i don’t feel like cooking, I tend to cave.  So this will be a test of my will-power.  So join me on my journey to health and fitness in 2013.  If nothing else, enjoy the recipes I post.  🙂

6 thoughts on “Why I’m doing this and the rules to the game.

    • Easy – Vegetables, meats, fruits, nuts (sparingly). Primarily if you can grown it or kill it you can eat it with the exceptions of grains, dairy, and legumes. For me dairy and I have a love/hate relationship. I love ice cream and cheese, but my body doesn’t. Dairy is the only food proven to cause acne. Legumes and Grains have found to cause leaky gut syndrome as they are not easily digested by your body.

  1. Good luck, Kala! You can do it. 🙂 I just joined a gym today to add to my workout routine! 2013 will be a great, healthy year for us both!

  2. Youv’e got this girl!! I enjoyed reading your blog…I think this will be an extremely helpful tool for you to stick with it. I know that I have to be accountable, as food is a weakness of mine as well. So glad to have you as part of our CFNP family and I am looking forward to getting “healthier” and “stronger” with you in 2013!

Leave a Reply

